DAY 16: The 12-year save

Programming Note: Tomorrow, I’ll be on the Glenn Beck Radio Program at 11:30 Eastern/10:30 Central/9:30 Mountain/8:30 Pacific. Click here to find your local station.

Sometimes God answers our prayers quickly and dramatically…

…but more often He’s content to let us wait a little bit. As the Lord reminds us, “Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.”

The 40 Days for Life campaign in Green Bay, Wisconsin is located at an abortion referral center where dramatic stories of last-second saved babies are a little tougher to come by.

“At about 9:55 pm…we noticed an individual struggling to climb over a snow bank,” said Thom in Green Bay. (This is already the most Wisconsin 40 Days for Life story ever.)

“At first, we didn’t know what to make of this individual…cigarette in one hand and some kind of object in the other.”

Upon scaling the snowbank, a young woman shared her story. “I made a bad decision 12 years ago. I was going to terminate,” she said. “But then I saw people quietly walking on the sidewalk like you two are tonight and I didn’t go through with it!

She now has a “wonderful” 12-year-old son. “I have never regretted the decision to bring this beautiful life into the world!” she continued. “It’s cold out here tonight, and I know you take a lot of flack. So I wanted to come and tell you that what you are doing makes a difference–a big difference–just like it did for me 12 years ago!”

She brought the volunteers a cup of hot chocolate in thanksgiving. “The cocoa was flavorful and warm…but it could not come close to the warmth she left in our hearts,” Thom said. “Tonight we saw the power of our Lord in the face of a young single mother!

West Covina, California

“We are having a great start in West Covina,” said Yvonne, the longtime campaign leader. The great-grandmother of a baby saved from abortion NINE years ago has a weekly prayer shift at the vigil.

“During the kickoff rally, Carmen happily shared her testimony of helping to save her great-granddaughter Leia by seeking help from the 40 Days for Life vigil participants,” Yvonne said.

Leia’s parents have since married, and Leia now has a little brother.

“Leia tends to everyone’s needs,” Yvonne said. “While baby brother is nursed, Leia ensures Mama eats as well by bringing her a snack.”

Mobile, Alabama

“This may be the largest turnout of children from the Catholic Schools and their parents during 40 Days for Life!” wrote the Mobile leadership team.
“What a joy to see so many souls sacrificing to support life! Even though the morning was dreary, the future is BRIGHT!”

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. —Matthew 11:28

Father, hear our prayer! Snatch desperate mothers from the fire. Bring them out of our abortion businesses and into our pregnancy help centers. Deliver them from evil. Use us to help them chose life and see your hand of provision.

See today’s full devotional